BCU Students, Employees Honored at Convocation

Briar Cliff University recognized students, faculty and staff for their leadership, values and academic excellence at the 2013 Honors Convocation, held recently in the Chapel of Our Lady of Grace on campus. The categories of recognition were Student Honors, All-University Honors and Faculty Scholarship Honors.

Honors awarded to students were: Rising Student Leader Awards – Abigail Buckhouse, Urbandale, Iowa, and Logan Murray, Sterling, Ill.; Student Heart of the University Award – Grace McElroy, Sioux City, and Bryce Reinders, Bellevue, Neb.; Student Award for Service – Briar Bergner, Holyoke, Col., and James Merryfield, Pine Bluff, Wyo.; Distinguished Senior Alumni Award – Katherine Beldt, Sheldon, Iowa, and Joshua Hindman, Sioux City; Distinguished Senior Continuing Education Award – Shannon O’Connell-Persaud, Dakota Dunes, S.D.; Distinguished Master of Human Resource Management Graduate Student Award –Susan Droog, Orange City, Iowa; Distinguished Master of Arts in Education Graduate Student Award – Elizabeth Miller, Davenport, Iowa; and Distinguished Master of Science in Nursing Graduate Student Award – Joey Hoefling, Odebolt, Iowa.

Also recognized at BCU’s Honors Convocation were valedictorian Alyssa Keller, Humphrey, Neb., and salutatorian, Briana Back, Le Mars, Iowa.

Heather Craig-Oldsen received the Paul and Frances Duff Pursuit of Excellence Award. This award was established in 1984 by Katarina P. Flanagan of Peabody, Mass., to recognize outstanding service to Briar Cliff University by a member of the faculty, staff or administration. Briar Cliff awards bestowed upon employees were: Spiritus Franciscanus Award – Kathy Weber and Dr. Paul Weber; Bonaventure Award – Dr. Jay Gunnels; and Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award – Dr.  Kathy Knipper, OSF.

Students honored for achievements in their academic majors were [listed alphabetically according to major/award title]: accounting – Erica Zuhlke, Creighton, Neb.; art – Alyssa Keller, Humphrey, Neb.; biology – Nicole Bruch, Audubon, Iowa; business administration – John Engler, Fort Dodge, Iowa; chemistry – William Kurtenbach, Columbus, Neb.; computer science – Shaun Broyhill, Sioux City; Dorothy Collins Art Scholar – Valerie Martin, Sioux City; elementary education – Carissa Courtright Hindman, Hinton, Iowa; English – Kayla Jones, Thornton, Col.; environmental science – James Conway, Sioux City; graphic design – Casey French, Spirit Lake, Iowa; health, physical education and recreation – Michael Becker, Norfolk, Neb.; history – Michael O’Brien, Chicago, Ill.; human resource management – Melissa Kuiper, Sheldon, Iowa; marketing – Cody Osburn, Sioux City; mass communication – Christopher Braunschweig, Altoona, Iowa; mathematics – Mai Dang, Sioux City; music – Molly Tullis, Mapleton, Iowa; nursing – Tara Cockerill, Spalding, Neb.; political science – Lyndze Thompson, Hartford, S.D.; psychology – Caitlin Wordekemper, Carroll, Iowa; secondary education – Michael O’Brien, Chicago, Ill.; Sister Loyola Service Award in English and Writing – Alexandra Alberda, Bismarck, N.D.; Sister Muriel Ford Social Justice Award – Corey Schink, Smithland, Iowa; sociology and criminal justice – Skyler Barrick, Grimes, Iowa; Spanish – Breann Hansen, Arvada, Col.; sports management – Brendan Gill, Sioux City; sports science – Travis Evgen, Forest Lake, Minn.; theatre – Natali Ramirez, South Sioux City, Neb.; theology - Joshua Winters, Mason City, Iowa; and writing – Joshua Hall, Gainsville, Fla.

Recognized for graduating from the Honors Program were: Alexandra Alberda, Bismarck, N.D.; William Atsma, Hospers, Iowa; Nicole Bruch, Audubon, Iowa; Joshua Hindman, Sioux City; Alyssa Keller, Humphrey, Neb.; and Reem Khodor, Santa Monica, Calif.

In addition, students who qualified for the Dean’s List 2012 spring semester and 2012 fall semester were recognized at the Honors Convocation.

Tags: Campus, Alumni, Academics

awards, recognition, faculty, students