Briar Cliff University Students Honored for Academic Excellence

May 10, 2022

Briar Cliff University faculty recognized students for their leadership, values, and academic excellence at the 2022 Honors Convocation, held in the Chapel of Our Lady of Grace on May 5, 2022.

The following students received an undergraduate award:

  • Art: Samantha Kallsen (Sioux City, Iowa)
  • Dorothy Collins Art Scholar: Rodrigo Caudillo (Sioux City, Iowa)
  • Biology: Hunter Pitts (St. James, Missouri)
  • Environmental Science: Taylor Lamprecht (Ponca, Nebraska)
  • Accounting: Emily Derby (Sioux City, Iowa) 
  • Business Administration: Cassie Clark (Carlisle, Iowa) 
  • Marketing: Elin Vestin (Varmdo, Sweden) 
  • Sports Management: Kreggor Clark (Frederick, Maryland)
  • Biochemistry: Quinten Vasa (Nebraska City, Nebraska)
  • Chemistry: Mya Hendry (Rapid City, South Dakota)
  • Computer Science: Tamas Witt (Lawton, Iowa) 
  • Mathematics: Tyler Bailey (Sioux City, Iowa) 
  • Criminal Justice: Mike Anthony (Mesa, Arizona) 
  • Mass Communications: Dawson Forcella (Greybull, Wyoming) 
  • Graphic Design: Ida Nilsson (Hedemora, Sweden) 
  • Elementary Education: Bella Constanza (Denison, Iowa)
  • Secondary Education: Drake Coupland (Sioux City, Iowa)
  • History: Taryn Bedow (Tyler, Minnesota) 
  • Kinesiology: Sophie Kramper (Jackson, Nebraska) 
  • English: Kailee Tucker (Akron, Iowa) 
  • Sister Loyola Service Award in English/Writing: Carli Sibbel (Manning, Iowa) 
  • Writing: Connor Mahoney (Sioux City, Iowa) 
  • Spanish: Teresa Guzman (Sioux City, Iowa)
  • Music: Samantha Kallsen (Sioux City, Iowa) 
  • Nursing: Katelyn Lewis (Le Mars, Iowa) 
  • Behavior Analysis: Alexis Westercamp (Oskaloosa, Iowa)
  • Psychology: MJ Montgomery (Hoskins, Nebraska) 
  • Sister Muriel Ford Social Justice Award: Teresa Guzman (Sioux City, Iowa) 
  • Theology: Christian Seibold (Sioux City, Iowa)
  • Honors Program Graduates: Madison Ellis (Omaha, Nebraska), Jeremiah Glise (Savannah, Missouri), Sarah Kach (Marcus, Iowa), Jake Leicht (Sioux City, Iowa), Megan Letsche (Remsen, Iowa), Jules Reed (Nicollet, Minnesota), and Samantha Zeleny (Gretna, Nebraska) 
  • Presidential Scholars: Brady Brockhaus (Creighton, Nebraska), Madison Ellis (Omaha, Nebraska), Sophie Kramper (Jackson, Nebraska), and Samantha Zeleny (Gretna, Nebraska) 

Awardees within graduate programs include:

  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Health Care Administration Award: Heather Martin (Storm Lake, Iowa) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Human Resource Management: Coral Shaw (Council Bluffs, Iowa) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Leadership: Erik Ingenluijff (Willemstad, Curaçao) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Sports Management: Elisabeth Curran (North Sioux City, South Dakota) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Nursing Award: Alexis Albrecht (Thurston, Nebraska) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student in Physical Therapy Award: Brian Murman (Fort Dodge, Iowa) 

Distinguished Senior Alumni and Graduate Student Awards: 

  • Distinguished Senior Alumni Award: Jules Reed (Nicollet, Minnesota) 
  • Distinguished Graduate Student Award: Shaylynn Meyer (Columbus, Nebraska) 

Also recognized, Dawson Forcella (Greybull, Wyoming) as Salutatorian and Sophie Kramper (Jackson, Nebraska) as Valedictorian

Bobbi Swanson, Supervisor of the Print Shop and Mailroom, was recognized for the Spiritus Franciscanus Award, which is presented to a member of the Briar Cliff University community who practices university values and visibly reflects the lives and character of St. Francis and  
St. Clare.  

Briar Cliff Hosts Achieving Cultural Awareness in Health Care Conference

Briar Cliff University Announces Fall 2023 Dean's List

Briar Cliff University Honors Native American Heritage Month with a Gift to Little Priest Tribal College