Briar Cliff Honors Students for Academic Excellence at the 2024 Honors Convocation

May 3, 2024

(Sioux City, Iowa – May 2, 2024) Briar Cliff University faculty recognized students for their leadership, values, and academic excellence at the 2024 Honors Convocation. 

The following students received an undergraduate award: 

  • Dorthy Collins Art Scholar: Madaleine Dishaw 

  • Biology: Loryn Kelley 

  • Environmental Science: Christian Balmer 

  • Biochemistry: Nicholas Schefers 

  • Chemistry: Kyler Faust 

  • Accounting: Samantha Wasmund 

  • Business Administration: Alyssa Bauer 

  • International Business: Jonathan Branner 

  • Finance: Davess Verdugo 

  • Marketing: Kylee Lukes 

  • Sports Management: Matthew Stilwill 

  • Computer Science: Spencer Pick 

  • Mathematics: Katherine Kofmehl 

  • Criminal Justice: Stephany Medina-Lopez 

  • Mass Communications: Robert Breen 

  • Graphic Design: Lexi Weber 

  • Sports Information: Morgan Jones 

  • Elementary Education: Emma Hutchinson 

  • Secondary Education: Ruben Munoz 

  • History: Caleb Sassman 

  • Kinesiology: Grace Johanson 

  • Human Performance: Elizabeth Ferguson 

  • Theology: Annette Lord 

  • Spanish: Moises Lupercio 

  • Arts & Humanities Interdisciplinary Scholar: Kathryn Wright 

  • Music: Alyssa Bauer 

  • Nursing: Veronica Pitzl 

  • Behavior Analysis: Brianna Flores 

  • Psychology: Gemma White 

  • Sister Muriel Ford Social Justice Award: Kieya Belmont 

  • Honors Program Graduates: Victoria Andre, Olga Vasovic 

  • Bishop’s Scholars: Spencer Schorg, Kailee Tucker 


Awardees within graduate programs include: 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Health Care Administration Award: Payton Slaughter 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Human Resource Management: Melissa Topete 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Leadership: Suzie Fischer 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Management Award for Sports Management: Keaton Mork 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Nursing Award: Alayna Underdahl 

Distinguished Doctor of Nurse Practitioner: Jill Connell 

Distinguished Graduate Student in Physical Therapy Award: Janessa Conrad 


Students recognized for distinguished alumni awards: 

Distinguished Senior Alumni Award: Davess Verdugo 

Distinguished Graduate Student Award: Taylor Donner 


Michaela Lange was named Valedictorian along with Katherine Kofmehl being named Salutatorian. 



Briar Cliff University Hosts 93rd Commencement Ceremony

Briar Cliff Hosts Nursing Pinning Ceremony

Briar Cliff University Recognizes DPT Hooding Recipients