Board of Trustees Newest Members

February 12, 2020

(Sioux City, IA – February 12, 2020) Briar Cliff University is pleased to announce the newest members to the University’s board of trustees: Gail Bernstein, Annette Hamilton, Sr. Renae Hohensee, and Mary Sterk.

Bernstein of Dakota Dunes, South Dakota, is a former business owner and speech pathologist. She earned a Bachelor of Science in speech pathology from the University of Minnesota and a Bachelor of Arts in business administration from Briar Cliff University.

Bernstein is a board member and past president of the Girls, Inc. board of directors in addition to previously serving as treasurer for the board of directors at the Junior League of Sioux City. Bernstein is a Briar Cliff Medal of Honor recipient, receiving the award in 2000.

Hamilton of South Sioux City, Nebraska, is Chief Operations Officer for Ho-Chunk, Inc. She earned a master’s degree in business administration from the University of Minnesota and a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Washburn University.

Hamilton serves as a board member for the Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City - Omaha Branch, for MercyOne Siouxland Medical Center, and for Native American Contractors Association.

Hohensee of Pocahontas, Iowa, is a pastoral care minister and religion teacher for Resurrection of Our Lord Parish in Pocahontas. She has also served as a pastoral care minister with the Sister of Charity of the Blessed Virgin Mary in Dubuque, Iowa and in various roles with AmeriCorps VISTA at the Sioux City Human Rights Commission in Sioux City.

A member of the Sisters of St. Francis of Dubuque, Iowa, Hohensee received a Bachelor of Arts in business administration from Briar Cliff University and completed clinical pastoral education at St. Luke’s College including a clinical pastoral education residency at Mayo Clinic. She has served on the board of Mission Honduras LeMars. Hohensee is a past Women of Excellence nominee.

Sterk of Dakota Dunes, South Dakota, is the Founder and CEO of Sterk Financial Services. She earned her CFP designation from the American College.

Sterk has served as past chair and executive committee for Women United, past board member for Women Forward, past board member for Sioux City Art Center, past board member and president for WITCC Foundation, and past board member Siouxland Chamber of Commerce.

Bernstein, Hamilton, Hohensee, and Sterk join current Briar Cliff board of trustee members Steven Freeman (chair); Dr. Patrick Walsh (vice chair); President Rachelle Karstens; Most Reverend R. Walker Nickless; Sr. Kate Katoski; Sr. Marie Cigrand; Sr. Marge Staudt; Bailey Aalfs; Ken Beaulieu; Ron Bond; Nick Roth; Mark Schuett; and David Simmons.