Briar Cliff unveils display honoring faculty emeriti

Loading Gallery ...

Browse photos from the ceremony, which took place on Nov. 19, 2016, inside Heelan Hall on the Briar Cliff campus.

SIOUX CITY, Iowa — Briar Cliff University unveiled a permanent display honoring its faculty emeriti on Nov. 18 during a ceremony on campus.

Fourteen of Briar Cliff’s 26 faculty members with emeriti status were in attendance to witness the unveiling, which took place in the Roth Atrium inside Heelan Hall — the original building on campus and the school’s main academic building. The new display features photos and plaques of each faculty emeriti, and lines the hallway entrance leading into Roth Atrium.

To say your commitment made an impact doesn’t adequately convey the magnitude of the difference you made in the lives of our students, graduates and the Briar Cliff community.

— Dr. Todd Knealing, interim vice president for academic affairs

“To say your commitment made an impact doesn’t adequately convey the magnitude of the difference you made in the lives of our students, graduates and the Briar Cliff community,” said Dr. Todd Knealing, interim vice president of academic affairs, in his address to the honorees. “Our university is a better place, because of you.”

Briar Cliff’s faculty emeriti have a combined 864 years of service to the University.

“It is my distinct pleasure to recognize and honor you for your contributions to quality, excellence and the success of our students,” said Dr. Hamid Shirvani, president of Briar Cliff, moments before unveiling the new display.

The appointment of emeriti status at Briar Cliff is an honor, and given in recognition of valued teaching, advising, service and scholarship to the University. To obtain this status, a professor must be nominated by his or her department, the vice president for academic affairs and the president; then approved by the board of trustees. The candidate must also have attainment of tenure, a rank of associate professor or higher, and a faculty appointment for at least 10 years prior to retirement.

Faculty emeriti in attendance included, in order of their induction: Dr. John Cordoue, professor emeritus of social work; Dr. Thomas Padgett, professor emeritus of psychology; Sylvia Kuennen, professor emerita of social work; Michael Hand, professor emeritus of political science; Dr. Judith Welu, professor emerita of art; Dr. James Redmond, professor emeritus of English; William Welu, professor emeritus of art; Sr. Mary Arnold Staudt, professor emerita of music; Sr. Michaela Galles, professor emerita of theology; Dr. Robert Olson, professor emeritus of biology; Philip Hey, professor emeritus of English and writing; Dr. Jeanne Emmons, professor emerita of English and writing; Dr. Craig Kalicki, professor emeritus of mathematics and Richard Poole, professor emeritus of theatre and speech.

Faculty emeriti not in attendance included: Sr. Edith Gottsacker, professor emerita of history; Dr. Carolyn Leman, professor emerita of nursing; Mary Ann Lonergan, professor emerita or art; Sr. Patricia Miller, professor emerita of nursing and Dr. J. Stephen Munzinger, professor emeritus of biology and Sr. Grace Ann Witte, professor emerita of sociology and criminal justice.

Deceased faculty emeriti include: Sr. Ruth Agnes Ahlers, professor emerita of theology; Rev. Robert Condon, professor emeritus of psychology; William Eberle, professor emeritus of business administration and accounting; Lila Frommelt, professor emerita of physical education; Sr. Michelle Nemmers, professor emerita of mathematics and Vali Sorathia, professor emeritus of accounting.

Tags: Alumni, Academics, Faculty, BCU, University Leadership