Led by Mother Dominica, with the support of the Sisters of St. Francis and Bishop Edmund Heelan of the Sioux City diocese, Heelan Hall was Briar Cliff’s first building established in 1930. Today, it is home to most of the academic offices and classrooms along with a variety of student support services.
The University's academic growth has required expansion over the years and has required many renovations including adding a fourth floor in 1948. Most significantly, in 2012 the Roth Cliff Shop was revamped and a new digital media lab was built into what would become the four-story 8,150 square-foot Roth Atrium in 2013. This renovation included a three-floor 16,650 square feet expansion with clerestory windows to bring in natural light, seven new classrooms, one business case room, two state-of-the-art science labs, and more.
In 2017, part of Heelan Hall was renamed and dedicated to Briar Cliff’s longest-serving president. The Beverley A. Wharton Learning Center serves as the main academic hub in the atrium and features the latest in technology, state-of-the-art labs, and expanded classrooms.
Learn and Grow Here.
This building houses courses for many of our in-person and hybrid programs. Choose the program that is right for you and apply today.
Explore our Programs