Students honored for academic excellence at convocation

The procession, led by Sister Mary Day holding the San Damiano Cross, begins the 2014 Honors Convocation at Briar Cliff University.

SIOUX CITY, Iowa – Briar Cliff University recognized students, faculty and staff for their leadership, values and academic excellence at the 2014 Honors Convocation, held in the Chapel of Our Lady of Grace on campus. The categories of recognition were Student Honors, All-University Honors and Faculty Scholarship Honors.

Honors awarded to students were: Rising Student Leader Award – Deanna Ayala, Sioux City and Reid Linden, Whiting, Iowa; Student Heart of the University Award – Jacob Rosenmeyer, Wesley, Iowa, and Jayna Specht, Yankton, S.D.; Student Award for Service – Abigail Chihak, Lisbon, Iowa; Distinguished Senior Alumni Award – Dillian Broadnax, Cedar Hill, Texas and Katherine Swanson, Burnsville, Minn.; Distinguished Adult Learner Award – Lori Stoll, Alton, Iowa; Center for Health Care Initiatives Bridge Builder Award – Amanda Huelskamp, Omaha, Neb., and Julie Redus, Glendale, Ariz.

Distinguished Master of Management Graduate Student Award – Jennifer Bohlke, Moville, Iowa; Distinguished Master of Science in Nursing Graduate Student Award – Robin VanZandbergen, Hospers, Iowa; and Distinguished Master of Education Graduate Student Award – Adam Hinds, Sioux City, Iowa.

Also recognized at BCU’s Honors Convocation were valedictorian Jamie Rusch, Anthon, Iowa, and salutatorian, Matthew Schmit, Sioux City.

Dr. Judy Thompson, professor, business administration, received the Paul and Frances Duff Pursuit of Excellence Award. This award was established in 1984 by Katarina P. Flanagan of Peabody, Mass., to recognize outstanding service to Briar Cliff University by a member of the faculty, staff or administration. 

Briar Cliff awards bestowed upon employees were: Spiritus Franciscanus Award – Jeff Baldus, assistant professor, art; Bonaventure Award – Dr. Ryan Allen, assistant professor, English and writing and director of the writing center; and Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award – Dr.  Ted Wilson, associate professor, biology.

Students honored for achievements in their academic majors were [listed alphabetically according to major/award title]: accounting – Dominic Wetzbarger, Sioux City; art – Elizabeth Brown, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa;  Dorothy Collins Art Scholar – Elena Grupp, Sioux City; biology – Shaughn Head, Palm Desert, Calif.; business administration – Logan Murray, Sterling, Ill.; chemistry – Mark Rose, Onawa, Iowa; computer science – Kelsea Peatrowsky, West Point, Neb.; criminal justice – Sean Fitzgerald, Ventura, Calif.; elementary education – Amanda Durheim, St. James, Minn.; English – Larissa Larson, Sioux Falls, So Dak.; environmental science – James Conway, Sioux City; graphic design – Ian Medeiros, Red Oak, Iowa; health, physical education and recreation – Andrew Jindra, Omaha, Neb.; history – Elyse Schuler-Cruz, Sioux City; human resource management – Monica Buitron, South Sioux City, Neb.; marketing – Christopher Karpuk, Sioux City; mass communication – Morgan Kulzer, Albertville, Minn.; mathematics – Rachele Harrill, Council Bluffs, Iowa; music – Lauren Bennier, Sioux City; nursing – Katelyn Baas, Council Bluffs, Iowa; political science – Kate Wakeman, Bloxom, Va.; psychology – James Merryfield, Pine Bluff, Wyo.; radiologic technology – Kelsey Hansen, Schaller, Iowa; secondary education – Matthew Delaney, Bellevue, Neb.; Sister Loyola Service Award in English and Writing –– Katherine Swanson, Burnsville, Minn.; Sister Muriel Ford Social Justice Award –Tina Tassler,  Elk Point, S.D.; sociology – Angel Talamantes, Rochester, Minn.; Spanish – Chase Lopez Wilson, Newell, Iowa; sports management – Frank Wallace, Omaha, Neb.; sports science – Charles Gunderson, St. Paul, Minn.; theatre – Aaron Cruz, Sioux City; theology – Jacob Rosenmeyer, Wesley, Iowa; writing – Elyse Schuler-Cruz, Sioux City.

Recognized for graduating from the Honors Program were: Gerald Elsbernd, Rochester, Minn.; Stephanie Engle, Sergeant Bluff, Iowa; Karina Haas, Algona, Iowa; Kelsey Hansen, Schaller, Iowa ; Shaughn Head, Palm Desert, Calif.; Amanda Huelskamp, Omaha, Neb. ; Carter Kruckenberg,  Mason City, Iowa; Larissa Larson, Sioux Falls, S.D.; Rosa Marquez, South Sioux City, Neb.; April McDill, Bellevue, Neb.;  Grace McElroy, Sioux City; James Merryfield, Pine Bluff, Wyo.; Logan Murray, Sterling, Ill.; Kelsea Peatrowsky, West Point, Neb.; Katherine Swanson, Burnsville, Minn.; Kate Wakeman, Bloxom, Va.; Joshua Winters, Mason City, Iowa; Serena Works, El Paso, Texas.

In addition, students who qualified for the Dean’s List 2013 spring and fall semesters were recognized at the Honors Convocation.

Tags: Academics, BCU, Graduation

honors, convocation, academic excellence